A beautiful Psalm of David…Lead me in the way everlasting

This morning I was reading Psalm 139, a psalm of King David. When I read it, I could feel a very deep relationship between him and God…he said:

O Lord, you have searched me and known me! You know when I sit down and when I rise up; you discern my thoughts from afar. You search out my path and my lying down and are acquainted with all my ways. Even before a word is on my tongue, behold, O Lord, you know it altogether. You hem me in, behind and before, and lay your hand upon me. (Psalm 139: 1-5)

David realised that God knew what he was doing, thinking, and saying even before he spoke it up…God knew everything inside his heart and mind…Who is able to have this knowledge other than God? Does anyone know other people’s thoughts before spoken? I am only able to guess…unfortunately, most of the time my guess is incorrect…King David said:

Such knowledge is too wonderful for me; it is high; I cannot attain it (Psalm 139:6)

Besides realising that God knew every action of him, King David also convinced that God is everywhere. He couldn’t hide himself from God’s presence and spirit. God’s hands always led and held him…as he said:

Where shall I go from your Spirit? Or where shall I flee from your presence? If I ascend to heaven, you are there! If I make my bed in Sheol, you are there! If I take the wings of the morning and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea, even there your hand shall lead me, and your right hand shall hold me. If I say, “Surely the darkness shall cover me, and the light about me be night,” even the darkness is not dark to you; the night is bright as the day, for darkness is as light with you. (Psalm 139:7-12)

Having said those two wonderful qualities of God, King David did not stop there. He continued saying that God was the one who knitted David wonderfully and fearfully in his mother womb. Does that mean that God took charge in every detail of this womb’s activities…awesome!

For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them.(Psalm 139:12-16)

After understanding these three wonderful works of God in him, King David said (I think he was speechless…)

How precious to me are your thoughts, O God! How vast is the sum of them! If I would count them, they are more than the sand. I awake, and I am still with you (Psalm 139:17-18).

King David seems not only admire what God was doing with his life, but also showed his reaction to the wicked who hated God by saying:

Oh that you would slay the wicked, O God! O men of blood, depart from me! They speak against you with malicious intent; your enemies take your name in vain! Do I not hate those who hate you, O Lord? And do I not loathe those who rise up against you? I hate them with complete hatred; I count them my enemies. (Psalm 139: 19-22)

All in all, King David realised that he was not a perfect human, but he was convinced that God would help him and lead him in the way everlasting, he said:

Search me, O God, and know my heart! Try me and know my thoughts! And see if there be any grievous way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting! (Psalm 139: 23-24)

I tried to find the meaning of ‘the way everlasting’ in Jeremiah 6:16 according to the footnote in my bible and found that the way everlasting means the good path or the good way in which we should walk and find rest for our soul…not quite clear though…But I guess that means the way for the eternal life which is salvation through Jesus Christ?

I put all verses in this blog because I think they are very beautiful…

After reading this Psalm (this psalm is not only relevant for King David, but for all human I suppose), I was reminded that God knows all my action and thoughts, should I be scared or joyful? It might be scary because I am not doing good deeds or speaking graciously or having good thoughts most of the time. I am a sinner!! Knowing that God knows them all would be very scary, wouldn’t it? ‘Hey, he is God who is the judge!’ I told myself.

But to be honest, I wasn’t scared when I read this, in fact I was very happy and thankful and joyful that God knows me very well even better than I myself does! That means He knows the best for me…It says ‘You hem me in, behind and before, and lay your hand upon me’…These are what God is doing towards me even though he knows every deed of me. Besides, the fact that I am a sinner has been known by Him. It is not new for him. But instead of punishing me, a sinner, he saved me…He sent His Son to be my Savior. He sent his Holy Spirit to lead me to have a godly life. Which God is like him? So, should I be scared? NO! Should I be joyful? YES!

Knowing that God can be found everywhere is also such a relieving truth. I don’t have to go to a certain place or somewhere to meet God!! I can find him here, there, up there, or down here, anywhere… ‘Your hand shall lead me, and your right hand shall hold me’…these are what God is doing towards us in every place…which God is like him?

He knitted me in my mother’s womb? I am imagining that He monitored my progress all the time when I was in the womb. I know I am starting exaggerating…But it’s just unthinkable!! I remember my sister always went to the doctor monthly or fortnightly to check the baby’s progress. Well, the doctor only showed my sister the progress and the problem if there was any…but can you imagine that God is actually knitting the baby and choosing every substance needed? It’s unimaginable!! Which God is like him?

The fact that God knows everything, He is everywhere, and wonderfully created me shows that He is God, I am a man…therefore, the same with King David, I will ask for God’s mercy to search me and know my heart and lead me in the way everlasting.

A beautiful Psalm of David…Lead me in the way everlasting

2 thoughts on “A beautiful Psalm of David…Lead me in the way everlasting

    1. entasimanjuntak says:

      Hi Nova, thanks for visiting my blog and spending time to read it…I am really happy that you are blessed by this post just like me…keep coming to this blog ya nov…:)

Leave a Reply

