A thing that really matters

I always have weakness to see what things that really matter in my life. Most of the time I am too busy with things that actually do not matter…so am I now able to see the things that really matter? Still not…I’ve got a big trouble to tell you! I am absolutely unwise…

This morning, I was mentioning one by one things that I thought would be matter for me….I started with… ”Hmm…study? Seems like, I am a student. By knowing more and searching more academically, hope in the future, I can find something that is not yet founded by other people. I will be making a record in Guinness Book of Record! That would be fantastic!” I said convincingly. “What else?” I continued, “Travelling, hmmm that’s great. It means I can learn the way other people live, I can enjoy my life, I won’t get bored with my life! Or at least, I can tell other people that I go travelling all over the world, isn’t it cool?” I said boastfully. “What else” I began being enthusiasm. “How about learning more and more languages, isn’t that cool? If I speak many languages, I can communicate with more people, understand their culture, I won’t have any problems talking with other people wherever I am going; or if not at least I can tell others that I speak 5 languages. I will attend many language courses then. I don’t care even though I have to spend much money for something that really matters for me!!” I was smiling. “What else?” I couldn’t stop thinking. “Hmm….career, yes that’s it! I will make more money! I am sure that really matters too. I can spend most of my time for my career…pursue it…Well, I don’t want to be left behind of my peers of course, come on!!” My smiling was even bigger this time.  “Anything else?” “Well, I will go to a Guru who will teach me how to defend myself. Well, I am female. I am supposed to learn how to protect myself, aren’t I? Karate, yes Karate would be great!” “Are you sure it’s all?” I was asking myself for the last time. “Hmmm…I might need to give other people a bit of what I’ve earned. Or I should give all that I have? The preacher in my church told us so. Well, let me think this matter later”. “Perfect”, I screamed. But then I was reminded by these verses:

If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. And if I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give away all I have, and if I deliver up my body to be burned, but have not love, I gain nothing (1 Corinthians 13:1-3)

I was rebuked. What I have mentioned is nothing? Oh No!! So what is the thing that really matters? LOVE? what is LOVE? I continued reading:

Love is patient and kind; love does not envy or boast; it is not arrogant or rude. It does not insist on its own way; it is not irritable or resentful; it does not rejoice at wrongdoing, but rejoices with the truth. Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never ends. As for prophecies, they will pass away; as for tongues, they will cease; as for knowledge, it will pass away. For we know in part and we prophesy in part, but when the perfect comes, the partial will pass away….So now faith, hope, and love abide, these three; but the greatest of these is love (1 Corinthians 13:4-13).

“Does that mean that I should pursue LOVE first? Or ONLY pursue LOVE?” See, I still cannot understand what the thing that really matters…”But how to love?” I was asking myself…”Am I able to love?”

A thing that really matters

11 thoughts on “A thing that really matters

  1. naphel says:

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts on various topics. In fact, i’ve been folowing through and reading all the postings several times over including the comments. The verses that have been quoted from the Holy Bible are new to me and thus, my inability to provide comments. Nevertheless, the thoughts are very enlightening and relevent. I am humbled by these thoughts. Thanks be to God…for keeping us alive to this day and giving us the opportunity to express our thoughts. Enta, thank you again.

    1. entasimanjuntak says:

      I am very surprised that you are actually following my writings…thank you for spending much of your time to read them…they are what I am thinking the most right now…learning more about Bible…no you don’t have to comment, i am already more than happy if you read them…hope you keep reading my posts, I will try to write them in English…so that you understand…:)

  2. Victor Yaputra says:

    Enta…

    you started with your question on “what is wise for a person to do?” (pondering on the question “what really matters”) and ended up with 1 Corinthians 13…

    while not evaluating on what you write, can i know how do you come up with the passage? (i.e. how do you match up your question with the Bible passage)…

    have you been going through systematically 1 Corinthians… or while you’re pondering on the questions, you’re reminded of the passage that illuminate you quite sometime ago… or how?…

    why do you choose the passage that you do?
    why do you think LOVE is the wisest thing to do?

    Was reminded of the book of Ecclesiastes (not related to what Feri mentioned), one of the wisdom books, in which Solomon is also thinking on the question of what is worthwhile…

    and his conclusion? FEAR…

    Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the whole duty of man. For God will bring every deed into judgment, with every secret thing, whether good or evil. (Ecc 12:13-14)

    vic

    1. entasimanjuntak says:

      Hi Ko Victor,
      wow,,,very difficult questions…I wasn’t asking these questions before writing this post, to be honest…my writings mostly come out when I am thinking or reading something…and at the same time being reminded by verses in the bible…so, each post is not based on the analytical research of the bible…my apologise…

      for the last couple of weeks, I have been learning about LOVE, doesn’t mean that I searched every single passage in the bible about love though…but, am amazed with the love God has given me…this expression of love can be founded in many places in the bible…I am reading psalm right now…

      while I’m learning about love, I found many information about my friends status on the facebook…most of them are busy with work, travelling, busy with learning languages…and sort of things…I am not saying that it is wrong to learn many things…But I want to share with them some that I am learning at that moment…which is about love…

      FEAR God and keep his commandments are the main duty of man,,,those two things really matter, but is there any passage saying that only those things really matter? correct me if I am wrong, may be because I am a woman (?) most of the time I prefer to talk about love and grace…event though we need to fear him also…

      fear the Lord might be the next post of me….:)

      1. entasimanjuntak says:

        just want to add something…i might be wrong to ask whether Fear God and keep his commandments are two things that really matter. they really matter…’to love’ is one of these commands maybe? haha…still thinking…thank you ko making me too much thinking right now…:)

      2. Victor Yaputra says:

        your question led me to Deuteronomy 10:12-13:

        And now, Israel, what does the LORD your God require of you, but to fear the LORD your God, to walk in all his ways, to love him, to serve the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul, and to keep the commandments and statutes of the LORD, which I am commanding you today for your good?

        probably the only verse which call us to both fear the LORD and to love the LORD…

      3. entasimanjuntak says:

        hm…fair enough….ko…:)
        thank you, ak ga banyak vocab ayat2 alkitab yang ak ingat…:) again thank you…

  3. farelado says:

    Quite surprised to found out that you actually blogging…

    “hope in the future, I can find something that is not yet founded by other people..” – remember the quote from the preacher – ” What has been is what will be, and what has been done is what will be done, and there is nothing new under the sun. Is there a thing of which it is said, “See, this is new”? It has been already in the ages before us”

    For what does it profit a woman to gain the whole world and forfeit her life?, in the end what matter is all has been heard. Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the whole duty of mankind. For God will bring every deed into judgment, with every secret thing, whether good or evil

    But fear not, Love is not that we have loved God but that he loved us and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins and He promised to be with us all until the end of the age. Faith, hope, and love abide, these three; but the greatest of these is Love.

    *sorry i just need to “menumpahkan” my brain here due to info-overload =p*

    1. entasimanjuntak says:

      Thank you Farelado…
      what I wrote in this blog is actually a representation of what many women are thinking, and want to pursue in the future…but instead of pointing someone…i referred all to myself…:) just want to make people, particularly women, think…

      that’s very true…there is no profit to gain the whole world but forfeit her life…this is not only for women though, but for all mankind…

      thank you so much for spending your time to read my post…thank you for the arguments as well…:)

Leave a Reply

