Running Well in My Christian Life??

Three days ago I and a friend had a walk to Coogee beach close to my place. It was in the afternoon almost evening…”I am not going to bring anything, only wallet and mobile” I told my friend. Just want to let you know, I am a person who always brings so many things whenever and wherever I go…a bottle of water and an umbrella are two things very important to me besides wallet and mobile of course…but at that time I refused to bring any of these because I thought it would be too heavy to be carried with while I am doing walking…Only for walking, I already refused to bring things…how if I do running? I might not even take coins I guess. Well, I rarely have running or jogging anyway…Don’t ask why, you know the answer…

I remember a talk in CBS last week about faith…before the preacher ended the talk, he highlighted what to do to be able to run well in our Christian life…He illustrated someone running with nothing hindering him from running well…’put off everything you are carrying with now while you are running…don’t let it stop or slow down your run’…I was thinking…’what on earth are things that hinder me from my efforts to run well towards God?’ MANY!! I started mentioning one by one in my head…’O God, that’s why I am too slow, others might have been running far in front of me, but how to take all these stupid things out of my mind and heart?’ I continued asking myself.

‘Also, make sure you look at Jesus’ the preacher continued. I was thinking again *too much thinking*, how if we run without destination? Well, I and a friend had a clear destination which was Coogee beach. I imagine how if we run but we don’t know where to go? You might argue ‘well, I can go running without destination, and after I feel tired I go back’. But, please think again, do you really don’t have a place in mind before doing running? You must have, otherwise which direction are you going to start? Or at least, before you run, you already decide which route you are going to choose. It might not be precise, but at least there is location or route in mind.

In Christian life, our destination is Christ. It is really clear. Christ is not the only destination, but also the guidance (with the help of Holy Spirit) so that we choose the right direction. I imagine *again, too much imagination*, if we’re running in our Christian life without guidance or destinations…what an exhausted running it will be…what a useless life it will be…But yes, we often focus our mind and heart on things we meet or find on the way, and they seduce us to stop running; the worse thing is that we often don’t realise that we stop running. So, make sure you look at Jesus while you’re running in Christian life…

Besides, by looking at Jesus, we have more strength to keep running…By looking at him, we remember all his promises and all good things that he has done for us…we remember the salvation that has been given to us…isn’t it relieving and comforting and strengthening to us to run in our Christian life? I suppose it is…

Paul wrote ‘Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, 2 looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God (Hebrews 12:1-2)

So to conclude, running well in our Christian life means: 1) putting off every weight and sin that hinder us from running well; 2) running with endurance by looking at Jesus who gives us Salvation so that we might imitate him.

Running Well in My Christian Life??

Leave a Reply

